Closer than a brother – Part I

 

21 Responses to “Closer than a brother – Part I”


  1. 1 Janet January 8, 2011 at 21:54

    I hope this photo essay is going to have a happy continuation.

  2. 3 kiwidutch January 8, 2011 at 23:09

    What a Brilliant idea to have photos taken every year in the same place !(whenever possible, naturally)You even remembered to make the poses as similar as possible too LOL. I’m looking forward to “Part2″ Cool!

  3. 5 Jana January 9, 2011 at 09:46

    This is so awesome and I want to know more so I too am looking forward to part 2.
    Not only did I enjoy watching you two mature and wonder to myself what your stories were between the images, I enjoyed watching the background changes behind you.
    I just found this skyline progression rendering yesterday – have you already seen it?

    • 6 jstwndrng January 9, 2011 at 10:38

      Jana,
      Wow! That’s cool. That’s exactly the kind of thing I’ve always wished to have handy, only starting from about 1870. I’ll have to watch it a buncha times because it moves a little fast for me. Thanks for sharing this! I work just down the hill from 5th and Columbia so I’ll be watching this take shape.

  4. 7 Kip January 9, 2011 at 12:34

    Many of these I have not seen, and I’m glad to see them! The hair in the 1990 photo is great, it appears there was no trip to the barber between ’89 and 90. And I have bot seen a picture of the other friend in the photos in a very long time. I, too, am looking forward to Part II.

    • 8 jstwndrng January 9, 2011 at 14:50

      The razor did not touch my head until March of 1991, just before I went off to the Ranch. I figured I should try growing my hair once in my life. I actually enjoyed the warmth of it in winter, but waking up suddenly in the night because my shoulder had pinned my locks down and I moved my head in my sleep? That took getting used to. Yes, late pictures of The Other Friend are hard to come by.

  5. 9 marni January 9, 2011 at 18:33

    Hmmmmmm. Quite fascinating, the changes, especially in body leanings; the pose remains similar but the physical conversation definitely alters! Where da heck are you in these photos, the W. Seattle bridge? You appear to be south of the port….
    I’m with Kippy, gotta love the 90’s ‘do.

    • 10 marni January 9, 2011 at 18:36

      …and did you stop with the Pepsi bottle at your feet when they committed the plastic bottle crime?!

      • 11 jstwndrng January 9, 2011 at 21:33

        The port is directly behind us, to the east. We’re in West Seattle on Admiral Way. The bottle was always glass. But you’re asking questions whose answers will be revealed soon. I like your phrase, “the physical conversation”.

  6. 12 leatherhead109 January 10, 2011 at 15:40

    I remember much of the background to these photo’s. I too will await the second part with enthusiasm. As for the 90’s ‘do, you remind me of a skinnier Mr. Rutherford or a taller Al Stewart. I never saw you with all that hair. What a kick.

  7. 14 Kip January 10, 2011 at 16:20

    Leatherhead knows of the Rutherford (I assume Mike), and the Al Stewart? A fan of both, you are? If yes, I am impressed, and, yes, pleased.

    • 15 jstwndrng January 10, 2011 at 16:26

      Leatherhead109 could not be other than a fan of both. The older brother monopolized the turntable and played those artists without cessation. Although I suppose that could make one very much NOT a fan, too.

      • 16 leatherhead109 January 10, 2011 at 18:56

        Mike and the Mechanics jammed their way into my Sony Walkman while I performed monotonous chores like swabbing decks at the barracks back in my “Leatherneck” days. And Al, well, Al Stewart is beyond question. I’m vexed I can’t find a digital copy of his “Life Between the Wars”, my favorite.
        I think you may be right about Mom, has she recovered yet? I tried to grow long hair back in the day for about 3 seconds. I couldn’t hack it.

  8. 17 Kip January 10, 2011 at 19:34

    Matt, Yes, I suppose it’s true. My brother still is a fan of Supertramp, to a degree. I remember one night at his house he surprise me by putting on Crime Of The Century. He has quite the stereo, and I am sure that people as far away as 4 blocks heard that show! And Ben, I am truly impressed! Why do I believe there were not many more on board ship that were cranking Al and Mike. You know Al has a Facebook page….I’m sure if you head there you might find that which you seek.

    • 18 jstwndrng January 10, 2011 at 19:41

      Well, now that we’re way off topic, I should point out that “Life Between the Wars” has always been hard to come by on CD. I heard some of it once in a store, and made the mistake of not buying it then. Some have said the production quality suffered on that CD and I don’t know if that means it was badly recorded or simply badly mixed. If the latter, one might hope for a remaster and rerelease someday. I’ll ask Al next time we see him in concert at the Triple Door. He doesn’t play a lot from that album when on stage, but “Night Train to Munich” seems to be a favorite of his live.

      • 19 leatherhead109 January 10, 2011 at 19:45

        Not to keep off subject, but I don’t remember any serious problem with the album. I have it on tape, but I fear to play lest it be munched. Then I’d be plum out o’ luck. A bass guitfiddle would not look out of place in your hands in the “‘do”graph from the early nineties.

  9. 20 jstwndrng January 10, 2011 at 20:50

    Ben, I disconcur. I think you’d have to look at either 1982 or 1999 for me on bass, or one of the late (Carhartt) years. To me, that 1990 shot is all drum machine and saxophone.


  1. 1 Closer than a brother – Part II « Just Wondering Trackback on January 12, 2011 at 14:38

Leave a Reply

Categories

The Great Seattle Gargoyle Hunt


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

