Great Seattle Gargoyle Hunt #8

The Great Seattle Gargoyle Hunt continues and for the first time we are looking for fish. For rules of play see the first entry, here.

Where are these pouty pisces? Use the comments to submit your answer.

High and dry. Gargoyles number 8.

I am considering moving the GSGH to its own blog, just so that people who are only interested in the hunt can follow it without having to wade through all my neo-Luddite romantic pastoralist handwringing, and those who care not a farthing for stone lions don’t have to look at so many of them. It would also be a neat way to collect and present the whole business once we’re all done with them. f you have an opinion or preference about that, feel free to comment about that, too.

9 Responses to “Great Seattle Gargoyle Hunt #8”


  1. 1 James January 3, 2012 at 13:59

    Those finny fellows adorn what is now known as the Cristalla building, formerly the Crystal Pool natatorium and bathhouse at 2nd Avenue & Lenora.

    It pops up on a boxing wiki site, of all places: http://boxrec.com/media/index.php/Crystal_Pool

    • 2 Matt January 3, 2012 at 15:00

      Ding!
      Right you are, James. Did you use your mad online research skills to find that out or do you have a story you’d like to share with us that begins, “I was running down Second Avenue, late for a lunch engagement with one of my Belltown buddies…” (Hint: It’s the latter, trust me.) Your limerick will appear anon, but it will be a better one if I have some details, even if you have to make them up.

  2. 3 James January 3, 2012 at 17:12

    Actually, I know a witch. Raised in the dark forests of Northern Europe, she’s now a denizen of Seattle who possesses three magical powers–the ability to befuddle any piece of timekeeping equipment, a nose that can detect even infinitesimal amounts of vanilla in any baked good, and remarkable recall for architectural details. I showed her the fish and she provided me with the answer, which I confirmed via Google’s Street View. I could’ve skipped that last step, that’s how much confidence I have in her abilities.

    • 4 Matt January 3, 2012 at 20:53

      This witch seems awfully familiar. In fact, if you swap out vanilla for garlic and replace “recall” with “absolutely no recall”, you could be talking about my wife, though I wouldn’t say she’s a witch. Spooky, sometimes, sure. I like your story. Sadly, in the seconds after my earlier reply, your limerick came to me as it were in a vision or a swound, so it’s already done. I’ll post it with a photo or two of the building.

    • 5 marni January 3, 2012 at 22:51

      Hahahaha- I’m the only one on this site who gets the timekeeping remark and I love it!

    • 7 Matt January 3, 2012 at 20:56

      (Former GSGH Winner) P.,
      I believe you, but when I tried this link it dumped me out on Madison next to the Public Library. It may be my dratted slow home connection, but you might want to check your math on that horrific URL.


  1. 1 GSGH #8 winner limerick « Just Wondering Trackback on January 4, 2012 at 20:54
  2. 2 Gargoyle #8 | The Great Seattle Gargoyle Hunt Trackback on January 20, 2012 at 22:19

Leave a Reply

Categories

The Great Seattle Gargoyle Hunt


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

