Just look #5

I know. I’m working on it. In the meantime, here’s a Just Look, a shot I took last November. It’s a little bit forlorn, but I find myself attracted to such views. I think some of the forlornity of it comes from its showing the outside of a stadium, which is the wrong side of a stadium to be on. A stadium is built to house a big party of fun, so even if there’s nothing happening in one the view of the outside of it naturally promotes a feeling of being left out. Or maybe that’s just the mindset I carry around. Come to think of it, yeah, I’m sure that’s it.

A mopey shot, in case you were feeling too chipper.

5 Responses to “Just look #5”


  1. 1 Kate March 18, 2012 at 10:26

    Plus, you’ve got old (triangle building), newer (viaduct remnant), and new (stadium); the old is crowded to the side by the newer (which is being torn down for not being new enough). Looming over it all is the newest … imposing in every sense of the word, if you ask me. Which you didn’t, but I’m saying it. And then there’s the “one way” sign that’s pointing at this gloomy triad. So – mope freely! I say.

  2. 2 Kip March 18, 2012 at 12:04

    I find the picture not so much mopey, but fascinating, just in the way Kate mentioned above. There is enough light coming through for me to push the mopey-ness aside. With your permission, I’d like to use it as my Desktop photo at work. I can guess that it will generate many comments, even with the many icons in place.

  3. 4 Matt March 18, 2012 at 20:15

    @Kate, I like your curator’s analysis of my work. I like even better that anyone would look at it long enough to see all that. You always had the artist’s eye, though.

    @Kip, yes, even in our gloomiest stretches the light is always there somewhere for our salvation, isn’t it? I’d be honored to have my photo serve as your desktop. By the way, in case you were unaware, this Kate is Kate that you know, i.e. OUR Kate, one of that small and now broadly dispersed fellowship of the Spoon.

  4. 5 Kip March 20, 2012 at 16:40

    Then I respond with Hi Kate! Looong time, eh? Wow, the interweb is amazing, ain’t it! You know, i noticed the red light, and looked right through it. Now that I see it, I also se the one car stopped, and the one person crossing the street.


Leave a Reply

Categories

The Great Seattle Gargoyle Hunt


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

