My J.P. post gets republished

My friend Elisa is editor at ParentMap, a parent’s resource magazine that is both a monthly printed magazine and a website and blog. She asked me if she could republish on their blog the story I wrote last fall about J.P. Patches, who was created and portrayed by Chris Wedes, who died over the weekend at age 84.

I said could she ever. She did a great job of it. It’s here:

http://www.parentmap.com/blog/12281/the-city-dump-will-never-be-the-same-a-patches-pal-remembers-jp

12 Responses to “My J.P. post gets republished”


  1. 1 Mom July 24, 2012 at 15:27

    How nice to have your writing considered for a larger audience!!!

  2. 3 Kip July 24, 2012 at 17:38

    It’s a sad day, marking JP’s passing. I may have said it before, but it was both exciting and a bit unnerving to meet JP in person. I never had my name mentioned on the ICU2 TV, but I got to shake his hand and studder “Nice to meet you” as a 26 year old boy. And I second your mother’s comment!

    • 4 Matt July 24, 2012 at 19:22

      Twenty six! Why, you must have been the tallest cub scout in the line that day. But I know what you mean. I interviewed C.W. for an article a long time ago, but it was over the phone. The voice mesmerized me and I became stupid, as in I fell into a stupor. He was sweet about it.

  3. 5 Elisa July 26, 2012 at 12:30

    Such a great post, Matt! Thanks again for letting us publish it. As I said, I didn’t grow up here so wasn’t a Patches Pal myself, but after reading your piece i feel like one. Lovely.

    • 6 Matt July 26, 2012 at 14:16

      Thanks for the exposure, Elisa, and for your light but expert editing hand. Feel free to fish around in here for anything else you like.

  4. 7 Jana July 28, 2012 at 09:56

    Congratulations! I’m glad that post received a bigger audience. Because of reading it last year, you were one of the first I thought of when I heard JP Patches died!

  5. 9 aplscruf July 30, 2012 at 11:14

    Great job, Matt. I’m glad your article republished. I now regret not saying “hello” to him as he walked in front of me at a show he did in Redmond many years ago. I was so in awe! I did manage (I believe I wrote a reply to your original post) to email J.P. a couple of years ago and got a big “THANK YOU!!” as a reply. I still have that!

  6. 11 kiwidutch September 28, 2012 at 11:32

    Congratulations Matt…. beautiful post well worth a wider distribution.

  7. 12 Matt October 12, 2012 at 08:08

    Thanks Kiwidutch. Good to see you again! Hope all’s well bayou.


Leave a Reply

Categories

The Great Seattle Gargoyle Hunt


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

