A man’s gotta do…

I was going to write a post tonight about a booksigning event I attended in the University District this evening, but Angela, who has in the past few days taken up knitting and is very excited about a scarf she is making for Mara, took a wrong turn on the knitting needle, or made a false stitch, or however knitters would say that — I’m sure there’s a colorful phrase — and started to become emotionally unraveled. She started using words like “fiasco” and “disaster” and in trying to fix it she got the big loop of yarn tangled.

Not the yarn I had planned to present.

We had been happily sitting beside each other on the couch, I typing madly away, she clicking and clacking with her needles, but now she dropped the whole mess in her lap and her head hung low as if she were about to start sobbing. I asked if she wanted me to help her untangle it, and she said yes. So I spread the unwieldy loop in my hands and we turned it into the traditional ball of yarn. Now it’s after midnight. I’ll tell you about the history gathering some other time.

7 Responses to “A man’s gotta do…”


  1. 1 kiwidutch February 17, 2011 at 06:10

    aw… True Love if ever I saw it.

    The “other yarn” can live for another day.. the yarn you were busy with last night was love being woven, a marriage being cemented, feelings being strengthened, appreciation being shown.
    The “other yarn” was of history gathering,, this yarn is a relationship history being made.

    This yarn is beautiful…

    …and the scarf is sure to look wonderful too 🙂

  2. 3 George Palmer February 17, 2011 at 06:58

    Imagine waking up after all 3 cats have gotten 2 or 3 balls of yarn out in the midle of the night and torn around, over, under the house. I’ve had mornings where I spent 2-4 HOURS untangling yarn. Encourage this for all its worth Choo… I have a sweater on the clackers now! Can’t wait till its done!

  3. 5 Librarian Girl February 17, 2011 at 09:42

    Particularly appropriate for Valentine’s week! That’s love.

  4. 6 Mom February 19, 2011 at 16:22

    you are so clever, and I loved the snapshot.

  5. 7 Matt February 19, 2011 at 17:55

    Aw, shucks, ma! 🙂 Nice of you to say. Angela took the picture. She always makes everybody look good.


Leave a Reply

Categories

The Great Seattle Gargoyle Hunt


