Just look! #1

I’m not a disciplined or well-equipped photographer, and I really believe creating impressions with words is the gift I offer the world (/burden I saddle it with — whichever). But in my daily walks I have been collecting a number of images I would like to share about which I don’t have a huge story to tell. A lower output of grist from the mill of my normally overactive mind of late might be attributable to the fact that we’ve been getting a lot less sleep while Emilia is simultaneously teething and becoming accustomed to sleeping with her arms free (she used to be double-swaddled for nigh-nigh but her uncanny ability to escape these complex wrapments has earned her parole).

I’m sure we’re getting more sleep than say, the survivors of the <take your pick from any of several recent natural disasters>, and my commitment to the bigger picture requires me to acknowledge the relativity of our suffering. Still, my mind is mush lately. Instead of 1500 words on the phenomenon of a thread unraveling on my sweater, I am simply posting an image I captured a week or so ago, and I have lots more like this so I’m numbering this #1 in case I decide to do it again later.

Here. I made this for you. If you click it it will display a larger version.

Dexter Horton Building roofline and the Edifice Formerly Known as Columbia Tower. Image copyright jstwndrng.

13 Responses to “Just look! #1”


  1. 1 Kip March 3, 2011 at 12:45

    Now THAT is a cool pic! I can sympathize with the lack of sleep. For some reason known only to her, Claire has been falling asleep after 10, then waking up in tears around 2:30 or 3am. It’s been a loooooong week! But you are correct, sir. These are uptown problems given the issues in the rest of the world. Here’s wishing you good rest!

    • 2 Matt March 3, 2011 at 14:35

      Kip, you have gifted me with a new phrase…”uptown problems”. Maybe it’s a common phrase already…TV? I’m way behind the cultural times and slipping further, but I’m going to try to keep that one floating. Sorry your little Claireberry’s having hard nights. TTSP.

  2. 3 Invisible Mikey March 3, 2011 at 19:53

    The discipline happens above the neck, and you have it. It’s your choice of what to point the lens at, and how to border the frame. It’s a simple, beautiful composition contrasting old against new, day against night, an age of face-to-face business against commerce through the ether. I think it’s superb, and it does tell an important story.

    • 4 Matt March 4, 2011 at 08:54

      Mikey, thanks for that. Spoken like a man of vision. I hadn’t thought of the day-night dichotomy, though the face-to-face versus ether idea falls in with my thought about things that represent smallness and human scale versus colossality and depersonalization.

  3. 5 Janet March 4, 2011 at 08:18

    I await some explanation re the photo. My first reaction is to dissent from admiration of the image. i.e. “I don’t get it” Maybe I need more sleep!
    p.s. (Those cornices made me wonder at first if I was looking at a computer keyboard.)

    • 6 Matt March 4, 2011 at 09:02

      Janet, your dissent — duly noted — makes me smile. Fair enough. My explanation: One of the exercises that I find interesting in the city, given the array of unique spatial relationships caused by the juxtaposition of tall buildings, is to “put things” next to each other (in a photo) that form vivid contrasts, such as those as Mikey noted above, and in such a way that flattens the space into shapes and colors that might be imagined as something else. You’ve just done it with the idea of a keyboard. It’s your unique vision brought alongside mine…that’s one definition of art, isn’t it?

  4. 9 marni March 5, 2011 at 21:55

    I love it, my sleep deprived friend. Keep ’em coming.

    Love you and yours as well, it must be said.

  5. 11 Rachael March 8, 2011 at 08:09

    Beautiful! Many thanks for giving my morning a lift!

    (My “uptown” distress is a dog with diarrhea . . . up and out all night. Hm, in the limited comments thus far, a few others with sleep deprivation . . . must be the Zeitgeist!)


  1. 1 Just look! #2 – “The courage of reflected light” « Just Wondering Trackback on March 30, 2011 at 16:03

Leave a Reply

Categories

The Great Seattle Gargoyle Hunt


