Just look! #4

I just wrote a brilliant post. Took me all night. Probably one of my best. Brimming with subtle wit and humor. Then I went to preview it and found that I’d become unhitched from the Web and that somehow none of it was saved, and when I went back to the editor it discarded everything and gave me a new blank page. I want to cry, but that won’t bring it back. So here are two photos instead, the first a sort of found poem and the second another one of those compressed space photos I like to take.

I’m going to go eat something with a lot of sugar in it now.

Looking south to the north wall of Benaroya Hall.

Pillars in the facade of a bank on Second Avenue.

10 Responses to “Just look! #4”


  1. 1 Janet August 2, 2011 at 07:35

    I look forward to the lost post. Am sure it was brilliant.

    • 2 Matt August 2, 2011 at 09:27

      Alas, Janet, it was the brilliance of a moment and I am afraid it is lost for good. That’ll teach me to compose online when the stakes are high.

  2. 3 Janet August 2, 2011 at 15:14

    Be patient. I’m sure it will all come back to you in a subtle moment of inspiration – when you are least expecting it.

  3. 4 Karla August 2, 2011 at 17:53

    It will come back to you! Try piecing it together when you have some quiet time. Remember a word or two, the turn of a phrase, and just like a puzzle you’ll assemble the general outline. Hopefully, your brain will be able to fill in the blanks automatically. Don’t stress, just let the words float back to the surface.
    Oh, and chocolate helps.

    • 5 Matt August 2, 2011 at 20:55

      Well, maybe I’ll try it again, but i don’t know when I’ll get those hours of quiet again soon. And there are other posts to be written, too. Thanks both of you for the vote of confidence.

  4. 6 Louis August 9, 2011 at 11:26

    I am so sorry to read about the lost post, Matt. This has happened to me as well. It makes me want to fall to my knees, slap a palm on the back of my neck, grit my teeth and curse the internet like Chuck Heston in Planet of the Apes.

    In fact, I’ll go outside and do this for you right now. Although I`m not sure the locals will understand…

  5. 8 Kate August 11, 2011 at 16:39

    temporal, what? it was beautiful, and it’s gone. and it’s ok.

    • 9 Matt August 11, 2011 at 20:39

      Kate, I see you sitting lotus position on the same sidewalk where Louis is busy cursing the Internet. I’m somewhere in the middle.

  6. 10 Mom August 20, 2011 at 12:05

    Don’t ya just hate it when that happens!
    Ma


Leave a Reply

Categories

The Great Seattle Gargoyle Hunt


