The Great Seattle Gargoyle Hunt – #2

Here is the second installment of the Great Seattle Gargoyle Hunt.

Rules and rationale are detailed in the first GSGH entry, here.

This one should be a good deal harder, but it’s right above a doorway and pretty prominent if you walk past it, and the color of the building materials is a clue.

Use the comments to submit your answer when you think you know where this is.

Happy hunting!

One wonders if the bankers who worked in this edifice really wanted customers to enter it.

6 Responses to “The Great Seattle Gargoyle Hunt – #2”


  1. 1 Louis September 9, 2011 at 10:03

    I recognized the cat, so I took a virtual stroll through Pioneer Square thanks to the good people of Google. I believe that is the Interurban building on the corner of Yesler and Occidental?

    • 2 Matt September 9, 2011 at 10:08

      Ding!
      Wow. Over in thirty minutes. I’m going to have to start putting up harder ones. Nicely strolled, Lou. Give me a day or two to come up with your limerick.

      Note: This building is the one visible through the alley in my second “Just Look” photo — a nice little parallel there, and if you look very closely at the large version of the photo you can see the doorway through the parking garage, and you can even make out a pixel’s worth of dark matter that I believe is this very gargoyle. Here’s the link:

  2. 3 Janet September 10, 2011 at 07:33

    As a newcomer/ancient returnee to Seattle I need a few more hints if I’m going to be enticed to go downtown and look for these gargoyles.

    • 4 Matt September 11, 2011 at 21:04

      It’s a fair criticism, Janet. I’m not sure I would look for them either if I wasn’t already downtown. And obviously, my millions of downtown readers are similarly unmotivated.


  1. 1 GSGH winner limerick #2 « Just Wondering Trackback on September 9, 2011 at 10:56
  2. 2 GSGH #2 | The Great Seattle Gargoyle Hunt Trackback on January 20, 2012 at 14:47

Leave a Reply

Categories

The Great Seattle Gargoyle Hunt


