The Great Seattle Gargoyle Hunt – #4

Here is the fourth installment of the Great Seattle Gargoyle Hunt. For rules of play see the first entry, here. Those who have won before may play again but I won’t be able to cough up more than one limerick per individual.

This is another medium difficult one. Again, you can see this on Google Street View if you know where to look for it.

Where is this lion? Use the comments to submit your answer.

Gargoyle #4.

12 Responses to “The Great Seattle Gargoyle Hunt – #4”


  1. 1 marni October 20, 2011 at 22:15

    I refuse to answer because this feels structured just for me…but I do know, and you have posted a picture of it on an older blog post ( in fact, that is this picture, thank you Google). Thanks Matthew- I had fun searching w/o all of the pressure of impending competition (and since I forgot until 11pm, anyone could have easily beaten me if they weren’t all asleep- again, feels unfair!). Love you- have a great weekend, I’m off to Lummi Island in the morning for a soggy but satisfying stay with good friends.

  2. 2 marni October 20, 2011 at 22:24

    “GTG”, btw. Had to quote my source, after all.

    • 3 Matt October 21, 2011 at 06:47

      I’m confused. Are you deliberately not answering? The winner is the first person who answers, kiddo, and I did not deliberately make this easy just for you. I did happen to post a photo of this building earlier, but I took this shot just for the contest. If you know, you should say. No correct answer, no winner! I hope you get this message up on your island because the clock’s still ticking!

  3. 4 P. Lana October 21, 2011 at 16:27

    Coliseum Theater?

  4. 5 Matt October 21, 2011 at 16:31

    Not the Coliseum Theater, no, but gosh, thank you Pedro for submitting an answer. You are of course eligible to guess again.

  5. 6 marni November 2, 2011 at 00:32

    I can’t believe it. It’s the Hoge Building. The picture I found was from YOUR blog “Gone To Ground”, hence the GTG from me! How is this possible? I feel better now, albeit several weeks later….

    • 7 Matt November 2, 2011 at 09:18

      We have a winner for this one, finally. Yes, the Hoge Building at Second and Cherry. Marni, you should tell us how you figured it out. Did you actually remember the lion from the photo in the earlier post? — remarkable because they are different photos. And is that why you thought I was “structuring” it in your favor? I wasn’t. Anyone might have got this one, and I’m surprised more people didn’t. Your limerick is under construction and will be posted shortly. By the by, your last name is so perfect for limericks, I can think of a million good ways to rhyme it, but I will do the right thing and refrain.


  1. 1 Great Seattle Gargoyle Hunt – #5 « Just Wondering Trackback on October 27, 2011 at 21:11
  2. 2 The Great Seattle Gargoyle Hunt – #5 « Just Wondering Trackback on October 27, 2011 at 21:11
  3. 3 GSGH winner limerick #4 « Just Wondering Trackback on November 2, 2011 at 19:11
  4. 4 GSGH #4 | The Great Seattle Gargoyle Hunt Trackback on January 20, 2012 at 21:21

Leave a Reply

Categories

The Great Seattle Gargoyle Hunt


