Great Seattle Gargoyle Hunt #9

Yet again we return to lion hunting in the Great Seattle Gargoyle Hunt. This is more than a day late, but that’s the way the cookie crumbles sometimes and I didn’t want to wait until next Thursday. We still have quite a few gargs to go. For rules of play see the first entry, here.

These gargoyles are pretty high up and not as large as some others, so you’re not likely to have noticed them unless you were really taking in your surroundings. As a clue, I’ve included a nearby building that you might be able to recognize.

So. Where are these lions? Use the comments to submit your answer.

Gargoyle #9

8 Responses to “Great Seattle Gargoyle Hunt #9”


  1. 1 Issy January 31, 2012 at 10:24

    I think I know where these are, but I’m not allowed to post any more answers I suspect. Will email you separately? Or will find a beard to post the answer for me… wait I’ve already done that! Literally.

    • 2 Matt January 31, 2012 at 10:33

      Hi Issy,
      It’s true I’m not going to keep hurling limericks at you, but you can still be the winner. Please do say where they are if you know. I mean, if it’s worth it to you to “just be the most winningest gargoyle hunter this region has ever known”. I think I see a comic-style TV show about a Seattle woman who dons special night-vision-gear and a costume of high-tech-fabric at night and goes out to haunt the cornices and entablatures of the cityscape. Say on, fierce hunter! Say on! [OHMYGOSH-WordPress’ spellchecker does not recognize the word “entablatures” — wonders if I mean “turntables” or “returnables” — somebody just shoot me now before the world ends.]

      • 3 Issy January 31, 2012 at 11:01

        Hotel Cecil where the North Face is these days? Initially I thought they might be at the top of the old WaMu building next to the Monorail (where I often stand around looking up. However, it was too far north for that picture you posted. So I walked around and strained my eyes upward and saw the telltale corner of the cornice and the style seemed right. Hopefully I will win a few more before my poor old eyes fail me.
        I will let the answers to #10 come pouring in, since it’s an easy one. But looking forward to #11 already! And even if I were not the most badass gargoyle hunter of this blog, I would still say that I love love love this kind of visual and historic traipsing around the city. Thanks for that.

        • 4 Matt January 31, 2012 at 11:26

          Ding!
          Three kills for Issy. Wow, I yam impressed. The Hotel Cecil it is. Really, I knew the only way anyone would get this is if they’d happened to have some history with this building or if they literally walked around looking for the lions. Well done. I have some great photos that I’ll put into the “solution” post. But I’m curious about what you call the “old WaMu building next to the Monorail.” I don’t know of a WaMu building near the monorail, and so I think its gargoyles are not catalogued in my GSGH database, which makes me fret. Please enlighten me as to where this is.

          • 5 Issy January 31, 2012 at 12:03

            Yay. Technically it’s four kills due to previously mentioned bearded James, who cleverly used the occasion to call me a witch in passing. I stare at the east side of the building, because I wait for the s.l.u.t. often enough, and it has Washington Mutual Savings Bank etched on the facade I see. However, when you asked that question I looked it up and realized it’s the rear end of the Times Building with the Mariner Store on the other side. Hence, you probably already have it in your resources and must forgive me for I am visually not data/fact driven and don’t always remember names and details that matter to others. Ask that bearded guy.


  1. 1 Gargoyle #9 | The Great Seattle Gargoyle Hunt Trackback on January 20, 2012 at 22:33
  2. 2 Great Seattle Gargoyle Hunt #10 (and important bulletin) « Just Wondering Trackback on January 26, 2012 at 22:36
  3. 3 GSGH #9 solution « Just Wondering Trackback on February 2, 2012 at 23:00

Leave a Reply

Categories

The Great Seattle Gargoyle Hunt


