Great Seattle Gargoyle Hunt #10 (and important bulletin)

Below all this talky-talk you’ll find installment #10 of the Great Seattle Gargoyle Hunt. At this write GSGH #9 remains unsolved, which doesn’t surprise me, so I’m backing off a notch on the difficulty scale. This one is pretty noticeable and pretty widely celebrated, but after this they just get harder and more obscure.

For rules of play see the first entry, here.

I’ve created a new blog to archive all the GSGH gargoyles, and I’ve done this for several reasons. First, I felt that these gargoyle posts and their attendant winner limerick posts were starting to clutter up my blog. I can’t be sure, but it seems that a majority of people who visit this blog intentionally are not interested in the GSGH, or at least do not sustain an interest that warrants all the room it takes up. I didn’t realize it would go on so long or constitute every other post.

Secondly, I wanted a place where the whole shebang could be archived, in case future citizens might like to take up the challenge (hey, it cou’ happen). The way I’ve organized the dedicated blog the solutions remain hidden from the main page, so future hunters can knock themselves out and then visit the solutions when they’re ready.

If you’re curious, it’s at http://gargoylehunt.wordpress.com. I’m not yet sure where I’ll post new gargoyle hunts and the solutions/limericks going forward. My idea was to no longer post them here, but the full versions won’t really fit the new format I’ve created over there, so I still have to figure that out. Bear with.

So where is this Indian head? Use the comments to submit your answer. The face in the image below is not Chief Sealth’s, by the way.

I doubt this Indian would like to be called a gargoyle, so let's label this one Decorative Element #10. Hmm, come to think of it, that's not very flattering either...

9 Responses to “Great Seattle Gargoyle Hunt #10 (and important bulletin)”


  1. 1 marni March 1, 2012 at 21:39

    Cobb Building……

    • 2 Matt March 1, 2012 at 22:30

      Ding!
      Thank you, Marni, for putting this one out of my misery. It’s times like this that make a riddlemaster know who his friends are. The Cobb Building, yes. Now I can post the great photos I have been storing up of this really awesome edifice. Did you know the building already just from this image, or did you use Google Street View, or what? I’ll work up the winner/solution post within a few days.

      • 3 Marni March 2, 2012 at 16:22

        Cheated and Googled it. I’d love to go downtown and do it up proper, but I can’t seem to get there darn it…because its so far away. Happy to oblige my friend- now post those photos, I know you want to!!

        • 4 Matt March 2, 2012 at 16:37

          Not cheating. I’m actually happy you “found” it instead of just knew it and didn’t feel like dipping in. I thought everyone would know this one, but it’s amazing how invisible stuff becomes to us when it’s higher than eight feet above the sidewalk. Post is coming along, I ended up with more photos than I could fit in.

          • 5 marni March 3, 2012 at 14:31

            Honestly, I’m one of those eyes-on-the-sidewalk kind of people- I’m such a klutz that I have to or I will fall down and seriously injure myself or others. That’s one of the many reasons I love the Gargoyle posts, you show me what by necessity I can’t “see” myself!


  1. 1 Great Seattle Gargoyle Hunt #11 « Just Wondering Trackback on February 23, 2012 at 21:47
  2. 2 Great Seattle Gargoyle Hunt #12 « Just Wondering Trackback on March 1, 2012 at 21:00
  3. 3 Gargoyle #10 | The Great Seattle Gargoyle Hunt Trackback on March 1, 2012 at 22:32
  4. 4 GSGH #10 solution « Just Wondering Trackback on March 2, 2012 at 17:02

Leave a Reply

Categories

The Great Seattle Gargoyle Hunt


