Great Seattle Gargoyle Hunt #13

The Great Seattle Gargoyle Hunt continues with a thirteenth gargoyle, even though hunt #12 is at the moment of this writing still unsolved. This shot includes a few extra clues, because hey, I don’t want this to be agony, I want it to be fun. For rules of play see the first entry, here.

Where is this 107-year-old lion? Use the comments to submit your answer…or even your silly wild-ass guess. No answer that includes a Seattle location is invalid (it may be wrong but it won’t be invalid). Throw out a guess and see what happens.

Gargoyle #13

10 Responses to “Great Seattle Gargoyle Hunt #13”


  1. 1 leatherhead109 March 24, 2012 at 11:32

    Ok, I’m jumping in, not because I have any expectation of hitting the bullseye, but because I can’t resist. Having perused the available building photos in a Google search with various rewording of the query, I have come up with a few possibilities, which some other member of the Gargoyle Club can pursue on location…Is this within the rules?

    My pic; The Oriental Building…I thought it might be the Globe, or even the Josephinium, both supposedly circa 1905, but the details I can see by zooming in on photos don’t match. The Oriental…has a few possibilities, but once again, I can’t seem to zoom in enough to tell. I found one building that looked promising only to realize it was in Portland. So, I’m going with the Oriental..

    (Imaging the Now and Then recording on the Carpenter’s Album..”Would you repeat your answer please!”…”The Four Seasons?”…

    • 2 Matt March 24, 2012 at 13:52

      “Mark Rudoph…you…are…wroooongg!! Boy!!”

      Ben, thanks so much for throwing an answer out there! While not the correct answer it is an interesting one. In fact, I had to retrace your googlage to find out where the Oriental Building is, since I’d never heard of it and wondered if you’d managed to snag a corpse (i.e. an ex-building). But I know that building as the Corona Hotel, which is really condos or apartments now. That one is on Second Avenue between James and Cherry. I will say this. “You’re on the right road.”

      • 3 leatherhead109 March 24, 2012 at 13:58

        “Boy!”

        I had a feeling it might be near 2nd and Cherry, but without being there, I couldn’t actually pursue it! Well,…maybe next time..(Google searches can produce all kinds of things that are dead..)

  2. 5 Issy March 24, 2012 at 13:43

    Alright, 24 hours have elapsed. The Galland at 2nd and University. The kids and I did a quick zip through downtown instead of taking I-5 to West Seattle and we spotted it as a team. Those guys are way up high! Our searches have been so much fun, I can’t even tell you, and we have really noticed a lot of other neat architectural details while hunting for the right ones! Thanks again.

    • 6 Matt March 24, 2012 at 18:49

      Ding! It’s like watching Mark Spitz at the ’72 Munich Olympics. I’m glad you’re having such a gas with it, and particularly that your kids are being caught up in the chase, looking up and noticing the built environment that will change as they grow older. If that’s all this silly game has achieved, it’s enough.

  3. 7 marni March 24, 2012 at 20:57

    Isabel and I got to have a chat about this this morning as she was dropping James off to work; with the determined glint in her eye, I had a feeling I would come home to find the case cracked and voila! ’tis solved. I have almost more fun watching the build up and process as I do in joining in on the hunt!


  1. 1 GSGH #13 winner limerick « Just Wondering Trackback on April 7, 2012 at 20:16
  2. 2 Gargoyle #13 | The Great Seattle Gargoyle Hunt Trackback on May 2, 2012 at 11:53

Leave a Reply

Categories

The Great Seattle Gargoyle Hunt


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

